National Eisteddfod Young Performer Awards Winners 2018

Winners of 15th National Eisteddfod Young Performer Awards Competition announced

The winner of the Gold Medal and R30 000 in cash was the cellist Vaughan McLea, a student of Susan Mouton. He is currently in Grade 10 at Helpmekaar College.

Vaughn McLea (Gold Medalist 2018) & Tebogo Kgobokoe (adjudicator)

The Silver Medal and R15 000 in cash went to Lebeko Mosunkutu a talented Grade 5 pianist from Redhill School. He is a student of Dr. Nita Wolff.

The Bronze Medal and R 5 000 in cash went to a Grade 12 actress from Hoërskool Swartkop, Marielle Maritz, who is trained by the Issie Venter Drama School.

The adjudicators for 2018 were well-known Tebogo Kgobokoe, Matt Stern, Izak Davel, David Johnson and Deirdré Blignaut-Rautenbach.

The adjudicators’ panel also awarded the Prestige College Marimba Band with the Most Inspiring Performer Award.

Various other cash prizes were also awarded to the winners of the junior and senior categories in the different genres as identified during the four semi-final rounds from 9 – 12 May.

The results of the 5rd NEA Young Artist award were also announced at this event: the senior winner of the 2018 Young Artist award was Jiayue Jenni Li (St Johns College). The winner of the junior (Grade 4 – 7) category was Abigail Oliver, trained by the Marlize Kenmuir Art Studio. The winning position in the Foundation Phase category was shared by two pupils from Bryanston Parallel Medium School, Gabriella Seeliger and Stephan Eykelhof.

Jiayue Jenni Li (St Johns College) –  Senior Winner Young Artist Award 2018


Abigail Olivier – trained by Marlize Kenmuir Art Studio                         Gabriela Seeliger – Bryanston Parallel Medium School

  Winner Young Artist Award 2018 Gr 4 – 7                                                Winner Young Artist Award 2018 Gr 0 – 3

Young Performer Awards and Young Artist Awards Competions 2019

Young Performer Awards Competition

Young Artist Award Competition

Verified by MonsterInsights