The difference between the annual National Eisteddfod of South Africa and the Young Performer Awards Competition

What is the difference between the annual National Eisteddfod of South Africa and the Young Performer Awards Competition?


The National Eisteddfod for South Africa® is an EISTEDDFOD platform that has no limits and provides participants of ALL ages with opportunities to participate, including differently abled participants. Any one can be entered by a school, studio of individual parent for an unlimited number of entries. In short: any individual, group, school, organization etc. may register and enter for the annual National Eisteddfod for any of the following:

  • singing
  • dancing
  • acting, reading and public speaking
  • playing an instrument, as well as
  • painting, drawing, sculpturing, etc.


The National Eisteddfod Young Performer Awards  is a COMPETITION event that provides a next level of participation for all diploma award recipients in the eisteddfod events of the PREVIOUS year. 

  • This competition is presented annually over THREE / FOUR rounds (Large groups participate in three rounds).
  • The first round comprises of adjudicated events in each genre, where a Panel of Adjudicators nominate participants to proceed to the quarter final round.
  • The quarter finals take on a similar format: the Panel of Adjudicators for each genre will select 15 – 20 participants / groups that will then compete in one of the four semi-final rounds.
  • To provide for the challenges of creating a fair approach when adjudicating and ranking live and video performances in the Quarter Final round, live and video performances will be ranked separately. The final Quarter Final ranking order will then comprise of the top achievers from both lists.
  • The 4 semi-final rounds of Young Performer Awards competition are presented in concert format at a theatre. Each concert is dedicated to a genre (classical and contemporary music, dance and drama. The best participants in the different categories, as decided by the Panel of Adjudicators, are then invited to compete in the final round.
  • In the final round, a panel of experts, representative of the different genres, finally decides on the winners of the Gold, Silver and Bronze medals.
Verified by MonsterInsights